Those Best-Laid Plans

Since launching this blog, I’ve experienced a reignition of my delight in writing – and looking forward to writing. I covet the time and space to sit down to compose a post. But the past couple months have conspired against me, even more than I suppose is typical for a working mother of a 7-month-old baby.

We spent most of January sick – stomach virus, strep throat, colds galore – with the whole family under the weather. At the end of January, my son experienced a severe allergic reaction that required a trip to the emergency room. The same day, we learned he could no longer be cared for in his child care center. The day before, I’d been offered a wonderful new job. My husband and I juggled child care until we could find someone to care for our son at home for the next few months, while we also try to get to the bottom of some of his health problems, which may or may not be related to the allergy.

I started the new job. And that night I learned my mom probably has cancer – a fact confirmed by biopsy a few days later.

I didn’t intend for this blog to be a cancer blog, but no doubt that will play into everything as we navigate this journey.

Thank you, readers, for your time and thoughts. I look forward to writing more soon.

Leave a Reply

